Home Simon Fraser University
  People and Departments

 








Relevant Faculty at SFU

David Baillie, Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
Genomic and bioinformatic analysis of C. elegans and humans; recombination; chromosome behaviour.
Email: baillie@sfu.ca
Fiona Brinkman, Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
Pathogenomics; pathogen evolution; computationally predicting bacterial protein subcellular localization; genome annotation.
Email: brinkman@sfu.ca

Cedric Chauve, Mathematics
Gene order analysis, metagenomics, RNA secondary structure analysis.
Email: cedric.chauve (at) sfu.ca

Jack Chen, Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
Identifying novel genes, structural variations, and regulatory mechanisms through bioinformatics and data mining.
Email: chenn(at)sfu.ca
William Davidson, Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
Genome evolution; gene mapping in salmonids; human genetics.
Email: william_davidson@sfu.ca
Martin Ester, Computing Science
Database systems, data mining, applications in bioinformatics.
Email: ester@cs.sfu.ca
Jinko Graham, Statistics and Actuarial Science
Statistical and population genetics, biostatistics.
Email: jgraham@stat.sfu.ca
Arvind Gupta, Computing Science
Complexity theory and optimization.
Email: arvind@cs.sfu.ca
Brad McNeney, Statistics and Actuarial Science
Biostatistics, epidemiology and epidemiologic study design.
Email: mcneney@stat.sfu.ca
Mark Paetzel, Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
Membrane protein structure.
Email: mpaetzel@sfu.ca

Frederic Pio, Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
Using bioinformatics and structural biochemistry to identify new protein-protein and protein-DNA interaction complexes involved in cancer and apoptosis.
Email: fpio@sfu.ca
Anoop Sarkar, Computing Science
Application of probabilistic language modeling techniques to various problems in bioinformatics.
Email: anoop@cs.sfu.ca
Ke Wang, Computing Science
Database systems; data mining, applications in bioinformatics.
Email: wangk@cs.sfu.ca
Kay Wiese, Information Technology (SFU-Surrey)
Protein structure visualization for immersive 3D environments; computational methods (algorithms for combinatorial optimization) for RNA secondary structure predictions
Email: wiese@sfu.ca

S. Cenk Sahinalp, Computing Science
Algorithms, data structures, computational genomics
Email: cenk@cs.sfu.ca

Jian Pei, Computing Science
Data mining, data warehousing, online analytical processing, and database systems, with applications in bio-informatics
Email: jpei @ cs.sfu.ca

Eldon Emberly, Physics
Gene Regulation and Genetic Circuits, Protein Design, Structural Properties of Proteins
Email: eemberly@sfu.ca

Adjunct Faculty

Steven Jones (Adjunct Professor of Molecular Biology and Biochemistry)
Genome Sciences Centre, BC Cancer Agency, Vancouver, British Columbia
Large scale sequencing and physical mapping; expression data analysis; pathogenomics.
Email: sjones@bcgsc.bc.ca

Francis Ouellette(Adjunct Professor of Molecular Biology and Biochemistry)
UBC Bioinformatics Centre
Biological databases; gene identification; genome annotation; comparative genomics;
Email: francis@bioinformatics.ubc.ca

Marco Marra (Adjunct Professor of Molecular Biology and Biochemistry)
Genome Sciences Centre, BC Cancer Agency, Vancouver, British Columbia
High-throughput DNA sequencing; whole genome mapping, gene expression profiling; protein-protein interactions; BAC rearrays; genotyping and polymorphism discovery ;
Email: mmarra@bcgsc.ca

Other People in BC

See a listing at bioinformatics.ca of others in B.C. with an interest in bioinformatics.

 

 
   
 
   


Back to top